Friday, December 7, 2007

Seedings of 2011 Asian Cup qualifying

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) on Thursday announced the seeds for qualifying for the 2011 Asian Cup, based on results from the 2007 tournament.

1.Iraq 2.Saudi Arabia 3.South Korea 4.Japan 5.Australia 6.Iran 7.Uzbekistan 8.Vietnam 9.China 10.Thailand 11.Indonesia 12.UAE 13.Bahrain 14.Oman 15.Malaysia 16.Jordan 17.Syria 18.Hong Kong 19.Yemen 20.Kuwait 21.Singapore 22.India 23.Lebanon 24.North Korea 25.Myanmar 26.Maldives 27.Turkmenistan.

In round one, the eight teams ranked 20-27 will be paired into two groups of four with the top two from each group progressing to round two.

The second round will see those four teams joining the 16 teams ranked 4-19, who will be divided into five groups of four.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the tournament along with Iraq. Saudi Arabia and South Korea, who automatically go through after finishing as the top three teams at the 2007 Asian Cup.

AFC Challenge Cup competitions in 2008 and 2010.
The first round draw takes place on Monday, December 17.

Source: AFP

No comments: