Sunday, June 17, 2007

Volleyball squad finalized for 2nd Asian Championship: Yaqoob

Pakistan Volleyball Federation (PVF) announced the twelve-member national volleyball team for Second Asian Central Men’s Volleyball Championship being organized by Pakistan Volleyball Federation.

Pakistan would take on arch rival India on June 23 and Kazakhstan defending champion on June 25, said Chairman Pakistan Volleyball Federation Chaudhry Yaqoob while addressing the Press Conference after visit of ongoing training camp here volleyball here in Sports Complex on Saturday.

Secretary Maj. (Retd) Muhammad Afzal and Bulgarian coach Stefan G. Dimitrov were present on the occasion. He said that volleyball stand third rank amongst the best game in the world and Pakistan Volleyball Federation is keen to promote volleyball in the country.

The federation, he said, would provide financial assistance to players by launching professional league volleyball championship first time in the history of Pakistan.

Answering to question, the Chairman added the Askari Bank is title sponsor while Ufone, Pakistan Sports Trust, National Bank and Pakistan State Oil is co-sponsor of the championship scheduled to begin from June 19.

Under Talent Hunt program, Chaudhry Yaqoob further stated that, PVF is training players on modern lines and providing all the crunch facilities to the players. Also, this year, six training camps will be held at various spots of the country to promote the game and groom youngsters, "he added on the other hand, under coaching training programs, coaches would train youngsters, which would be able to learn the art in an amicable manner.

He hoped that Pakistan would better perform in the forthcoming championship. On the occasion, the Chairman PVF announced 12-member national volleyball squad, which would take part in the second Asian Central Zone Mens Volleyball Championship.

He said that Muhammad Zaman, who is from Police, would lead twelve members Pakistan squad in the upcoming championship.

While other players are Irfan Nawaz (WAPDA), M. Tariq Waseem (Police), Kashif Mansoor (Police), Mohib Rasool (police), Sayyab (PAF), Naseer Ahmad (Police), Ali Abbas (WAPDA), Muhammad Riaz (PAF), Bakhat Rasal (Army), Muhammad Ismail (PAF) and Sanaullah.

Besides hosts Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Turkmenistan, Iran and defending champion Kazakhstan are participating in the seven days international fixture which would start from June 19 and would be continued till June 25 at Liaquat Gymnasium, Pakistan Sports Complex Islamabad.

Announcing the schedule, Chaudhry Yaqoob was on the view that hose Pakistan will play its inaugural match against Sri Lanka while first day second match between Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan, third match between India and Iran would be played during the first day.

While on second day, he said, first match is schedule to play between defending championship Kazakhstan and Maldives, second match between Iran and Sri Lanka, third match between Pakistan and Turkmenistan.

Likewise, Indian would take on Sri Lanka on June 21, second match between Maldives and Turkmenistan while third match between Iran and Pakistan would be played on same day, he maintained.

On June 22, Chairman PVF said, first match between Maldives and Sri Lanka, second match between Iran and Turkmenistan and third match between Kazakhstan and India would be played.

First match between Maldives and Iran, second match between Kazakhstan and Iran while third match between archrival Pakistan and India would be played on June 23, he pointed out.

Chaudhry Yaqub added Pakistan would play its match against Maldives on June 24 while India against Turkmenistan and Iran against Kazakhstan on June 24.

Matches between Turkmenistan and Sri Lanka, India and Maldives, Pakistan and Kazakhstan would be played on last and seventh day of the championship, he concluded.

Schedule. Match No. Date Time Teams 1. 19-June 12:00 Noon KAZ - TKM 2. 02:00 pm IND - IRI 3 4:30 PM PAK - SRI (Opening Ceremony) 4 20-June 01:00 pm KAZ - MDV 5 3:00 pm IRI - SRI 6 5:00 pm PAK - TKM 7 21-June 1:00 pm IND - SRI 8 3:00 pm MDV - TKM 9 5:00 pm IRI - PAK 10 22 -June 10:00 am MDV - SRI 11 3:00 pm IRI - TKM 12 5:00 pm KAZ - IND 13 23-June 1:00 pm MDV - IRI 14 3:00 pm KAZ - SRI 15 5:00 pm IND - PAK 16 24-June 1:00 pm PAK - MDV 17 3:00 pm IND - TKM 18 5:00 pm IRI - KAZ 19 25-June 1:00 pm TKM - SRI 20 3:00 pm IND - MDV 21 5:00 pm PAK - KAZ (Closing Ceremony)


No comments: